

Minutes of the Easter Vestry Meeting Held on Sunday 8 May 2016

Chairman – the Dean of Manchester, Rogers Govender. **Secretary** – the Cathedral Administrator, Stuart Shepherd.

Introduction and review of the past year

The Dean began by welcoming community members and inviting them to reflect on all of the exciting and positive things that have happened in the life of Manchester Cathedral over the past twelve months. All members were then asked to write these down in note form and hand to the Canon Precentor who will collate and summarise at the end of the meeting.

1. Opening Prayer

The Dean opened the Easter Vestry meeting with a prayer of thanks for those on the Cathedral Community Roll and for those no longer with us.

2. Apologies

Apologies had been received in advance of the meeting from Doreen Hollingworth, Margaret Knowles and Judith Walsh.

3. Notice convening the meeting

The meeting was convened in the Cathedral nave at 12.15pm. Invitations had been circulated electronically and by letter to all on the Cathedral Community Roll.

4. Minutes of the previous Easter Vestry meeting dated 3 May 2015

The minutes were accepted as a true record of the previous meeting and were signed by the Dean.

5. Matters arising from the previous meeting

Under matters arising, the Dean acknowledged that the issue raised at the previous meeting regarding low uptake on the Envelope Giving Scheme and Planned Giving remains unresolved; the clergy team was still giving consideration to how these crucial income streams might be better promoted and supported.

6. **Election of Churchwardens**

The Dean explained that the Church Wardens at Manchester Cathedral have no statutory responsibilities but are effectively the Senior Stewards. It is therefore essential that those nominated as Church Wardens are already serving as Stewards of Manchester Cathedral. Churchwardens are all elected annually but may be re-elected. The Churchwardens for the previous year were Geoffrey Bamping, Graham Curtis and David Haywood, who are all eligible for re-election. Nominations for three vacancies were invited. Those nominated, proposers and seconders must all be members of the Cathedral Community Roll. Five nominations were received: Graham Curtis, Sylvester During, Joe Ejiakuekwu, David Haywood and Gareth Screeton. Therefore an election for three Church Wardens took place and those counting the votes were Canon Barrie Cheshire and Mr David Howe. Graham Curtis, David Haywood and Gareth Screeton were duly elected. The Dean thanked them for their support and commitment.

7. Election of Stewards

Stewards are elected annually and there is no fixed number. The Dean thanked all of the stewards for their continued support and for all of the help throughout the previous year. It was reported that Tom Matthews had decided not to stand for re-election this year.

- a. The following existing stewards had agreed to stand for re-election and were subsequently reelected collectively: John Acaster; Geoff Bamping; Helen Bamping; Geoffrey Berry; Peter Briggs; Barrie Cheshire; Beryl Cheshire; Jennifer Curtis; Kathryn DeBelle; Barbara Evans; Daphne Greaves; Doreen Hollingworth; David Howe; Marina James; Paul Kidd; Alan Maguire; Jack Peacock; Derek Pike; Elaine Screeton; Gareth Screeton; Paul Seymour; Ian Shaw and Ian Simpson.
- b. The following additional nominations were proposed and seconded to stand as Cathedral stewards: Basil Fox; Faith Hatani; Josiah Okafor; Janet Rank; Nicholas Rank; Sonia Soans and Judith Walsh.

As such, there are total of 30 active stewards for service in the Cathedral. The Dean thanked them all for their support and commitment to the Cathedral.

8. Election of Lay Members of Chapter

The Dean explained to all those present that the Cathedral Community is responsible for electing a total of two members to serve on the Cathedral Chapter, each of whom serves for three years but may then be reelected. Canons Barrie Cheshire and Jenny Curtis are the currently elected members; their terms of office do not expire this year so there are no vacancies. The Dean thanked them for their on-going support.

9. Any other business

There was no further business so the Dean closed the meeting and progressed with the opening of the Annual General Meeting.

SS

Postscript

Following the Easter Vestry Meeting it became apparent that the voting slips for the election of Churchwardens had been miscounted. Graham Curtis and David Haywood had been elected but a clear majority vote had not been achieved for the other position. The Dean, in consultation with the Churchwardens and other Cathedral clergy colleagues, took the decision that this third position would be left vacant for the twelve month term.