

# Minutes of the Easter Vestry Meeting Held on Sunday 3 May 2015

**Chairman** – the Dean of Manchester, Rogers Govender. **Secretary** – the Cathedral Administrator, Stuart Shepherd.

#### Introduction and review of the past year

The Dean began by welcoming community members and inviting them to quietly reflect on all of the good and very much positive things that have happened in the life of Manchester Cathedral over the past twelve months. Members were thankful for: the success of the new under-floor heating and a warm cathedral; the welcome shown to the new curate; the wonderful flowers; the terrific music; the opportunity of the Easter broadcasts; the volunteer opportunities; quality of the Cathedral Choir; the clergy team; Canon Holgate's arrival; clear information about all that is happening; supportive congregation; the 70 Welcomers and Guides; dynamic fundraising.

### 1. Opening Prayer

The Dean opened the Easter Vestry meeting with a prayer of thanks for all those present and for all the positive thanks that have happened at the Cathedral over the past year, remembering all those on the Cathedral Community Roll and for those no longer with us.

## 2. Apologies

Apologies had been received in advance from Barrie & Beryl Cheshire, Jennifer Devans, Amos Millington, Betty Preston, Gareth Screeton, Judith Walsh, Ralph & Judy White.

## 3. Notice convening the meeting

The meeting was convened at 12.15pm.

# 4. Minutes of the previous Easter Vestry meeting dated 11 May 2014

The minutes were accepted as a true record of the previous meeting and were signed by the Dean.

#### 5. Matters arising from the previous meeting

Under matters arising, Peter Briggs raised the issue that there had been no specific appeals or meetings about the Envelope Giving Scheme – whilst stewards work hard to promote the Envelope Scheme and attract membership, it is felt that specific appeals led by clergy are also required. The Dean agreed that specific appeals should take place in future but would ask that members meet with the Dean to suggest suitable dates well in advance so that all can work together.

#### 6. Election of Churchwardens

The Dean is aware that there has been much conversation regarding the tenure of our churchwardens, and more specifically at the Cathedral Community Committee. It has been suggested that the tenure of churchwardens be for six years only. However, the Cathedral is not a parish church and as such, is not governed by the typical Church Representation Rules. Instead, cathedrals are governed by a corporate body called the Chapter and various associated legislation such as the Cathedrals Measure 1999. Whilst previous Easter Vestry meetings and Annual General Meetings have

loosely followed the format required by the Church Representation Rules, the Dean and Canons are not required to follow them and are able to adapt them as they see fit.

The Dean then explained to members that in order to be a churchwarden, it has previously been agreed that individuals first need to have served as active stewards at the Cathedral. The Cathedral is always in desperate need of new stewards and churchwardens; if the tenure of our churchwardens, i.e. senior stewards, we would seriously restrict how people are able to assist and voluntarily serve the Cathedral's mission. To date, we've been lucky and our current churchwardens have served us well. As such, the Dean recommended to members that the tenure of churchwardens not be restricted to any specific period of time and asked members for their feedback. Overall, it was felt by all those present that the current system has served the Cathedral very well and by consensus all agreed unanimously that the tenure of the churchwardens not be limited.

Three churchwardens are elected annually. Nominated for 2015 were Geoff Bamping, Graham Curtis and David Haywood.

#### 7. Election of Stewards

Stewards are elected annually and there is no fixed number. The Dean thanked all of the stewards for their continued support and for all of the help throughout the previous year. It was reported that Basil Fox had decided not to stand for re-election this year.

- a. The following existing stewards had agreed to stand for re-election and were subsequently reelected collectively: John Acaster; Helen Bamping; Geoffrey Berry; Peter Briggs; Barrie Cheshire; Beryl Cheshire; Jennifer Curtis; Kathryn DeBelle; Sylvester During; Kirk Eckersall; Joe Onyema Ejiakwekwu; Barbara Evans; Daphne Greaves; Doreen Hollingworth; David Howe; Marina James; Paul Kidd; Alan Maguire; Tom Matthews; Jack Peacock; Derek Pike; Elaine Screeton; Paul Seymour; Ian Shaw and Ian Simpson.
- b. Gareth Screeton had been proposed and seconded as a new steward and was subsequently declared as such, giving a total of 26 active stewards for service in the Cathedral.

#### 8. Election of Lay Members of Chapter

The Dean explained to all those present how two Chapter members are elected by the Cathedral Community. David Howe was elected for a period of three years back in 2012 and had now stepped down from the Chapter; as such, a vacancy had arisen. The Dean expressed his gratitude to David for all of his hard work on the Chapter over the past years.

Jennifer Curtis, Basil Fox and Ian Simpson had all been proposed for the elected member vacancy and so a ballot ensued, facilitated and overseen by the Cathedral Administrator. Two churchwardens assisted in counting the ballot (namely Geoff Bamping and David Haywood). Only those on the Cathedral Community Roll were able to vote and Jennifer Curtis was elected to be the new Lay Member of Chapter. The Dean extended his congratulations to Jennifer and thanked Basil and Ian for their generosity in also standing for election.

# 9. Any other business

There was no further business to be attended to so the Dean closed the meeting and progressed with the opening of the Annual General Meeting.