# The Cathedral, Collegiate and Parish Church of St Mary, St Denys & St George in Manchester

## Minutes of the Easter Vestry Meeting

Held Sunday 11th May 2014 in the Cathedral at 12 noon.

Chairman: The Dean Secretary: Jennifer Curtis

There were approximately 50 attendees.

## 1. Introduction and review of the past year

The Dean began by welcoming community members and inviting them to reflect on the good things that had happened in the life of the Cathedral during the past year. Suggestions included: Holy Week and Easter Day services, worship in the Cathedral on the Street, installation of the new Bishop and return to the Cathedral with its new heating and floor, increasing visitor numbers, music in the Cathedral, the fund-raising work, improved communications.

## 2. Opening

The Dean opened the formal proceedings with a prayer, inviting attendees to give quiet thanks for all the good things of the past year in the light of Christ the Good Shepherd, reflecting the theme of the morning worship.

He apologised for the late appearance of the pack of reports and allowed a few minutes for them to be perused before the meeting continued.

## 3. Apologies

Apologies were received from: Mary and Stuart Carter, Lee Ellis, Evelyn Hayward, Alex Prokop, Eileen Thompson.

## 4. Minutes of the meeting on 28th April 2013 and matters arising

The minutes were signed as a correct record by the Dean. There were no matters arising.

## 5. Election of Churchwardens

Jack Peacock was not standing for re-election and the Dean paid tribute to his work as a Churchwarden since 2010.

There had been four nominations for 2014-5: Geoffrey Bamping, Graham Curtis, David Hayward and Margaret Williamson.

The Dean explained that Margaret was not eligible as Churchwardens are effectively senior stewards and are elected from among those who are currently either wardens or stewards. He asked if there were any further nominations but none were forthcoming. This made a ballot unnecessary and he declared Geoffrey Bamping, Graham Curtis and David Hayward elected for a one year term. The Dean thanked them all for their hard work during the past year.

Margaret Williamson proposed that a limit be put on the number of re-elections allowed for Churchwardens and other officers. The Dean replied that this suggestion should be brought forward on another occasion.

## 6. Election of Stewards

The Dean noted the loss of two stewards during the year: Gordon Egerton who had died and Andrew Yoo who had left the UK. He thanked all the stewards for their help throughout the year, acknowledging that theirs is an indispensable role in supporting services.

The following serving stewards had agreed to stand for re-election and were declared re-elected *en bloc:* John Acaster, Helen Bamping, Geoffrey Berry, Peter Briggs, Barrie Cheshire, Beryl Cheshire, Jennifer Curtis, Kathryn de Belle, Sylvester During, Joe Ejiakwekwu, Barbara Evans, Basil Fox, Daphne Greaves, Doreen Hollingworth, David Howe, Paul Kidd, Alan Maguire, Tom Matthews, Derek Pike, Elaine Screeton, Paul Seymour, Ian Shaw, Ian Simpson.

Kirk Eckersall, Marina James and Jack Peacock had been proposed and seconded as new stewards and were declared elected, giving a total of 26 stewards.

### 7. Election of a lay member of the Cathedral Chapter

The Dean explained that of the four lay Chapter members, two are elected by the Cathedral community and two appointed by the Bishop. Jennifer Curtis' appointment had now expired and she was thanked for her service. The Bishop had decided that future lay members would not also be appointed as lay Canons.

Barrie Cheshire and Margaret Williamson had been proposed for the elected member vacancy. A ballot was held and Barrie Cheshire was declared elected to serve a three year term.

### 8. Any other Business

In the absence of any other business the Dean closed the meeting at 12.25 and proceeded to the Annual General Meeting.

JMC 14/05/2013